AVCTL-I softball league selections Derby 2019

Senior Madi Young was named AVCTL-I player of the year and she was joined by classmate Courtney Cline, who picked up her second first-team selection.

Derby’s five first-team selections gives it 13 over the last three seasons. Coach Christy Weve was named coach of the year and the Panthers had 11 players selected for first, second-team or honorable mention honors.



P: Paige Paxton, SO, Derby; Riley Wertz, SO, Maize; Jenna Henderson, SO, Salina South

C: Bailie Stanley, SR, Campus

1B: Halle Rico, JR, Derby

2B: Sophie Martins, SO, Campus

SS: Madi Young, SR, Derby

3B: Amber Howe, SO, Derby

OF: Courtney Cline, SR, Derby; Emily Peaney, SR, Newton; Lauryn Johnson, SR, Campus; Sophia Buzard, JR, Maize

DH: Reese Altman, SO, Salina South

UT: McKensy Glass, JR, Maize

COACH OF THE YEAR: Christy Weve, Derby

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Madi Young, SR, Derby



P: Sophia Depew, FR, Derby; Kelie Stanley, JR, Campus; Riley Lusk, FR, Hutchinson

C: Lexi Williams, SR, Hutchinson

1B: Aspen Conner, SR, Hutchinson

2B: Gabby Martin, SO, Derby

SS: Toria Thaw, SO, Newton

3B: Mallory Seirer, SO, Newton

OF: Mariah Wheeler, JR, Derby; Makayla Chavez, SR, Campus; Devynn Raile, SO, Maize; Mataya Copes, JR, Salina South

DH: Alexis Enslinger, JR, Derby

UT: Faith Bannister, JR, Campus



P: Lauryn Johnson, SR, Campus; Sophia Martins, SO, Campus

C: Tatum Haney, SR, Derby; Gracie Rains, FR, Newton; Chloe Bartlett, FR, Maize

1B: Madi Bowen, FR, Maize; Peyton Froome, JR, Salina South

2B: Kailee O’Connor, JR, Salina Central

SS: Abby Miller, JR, Salina South

3B: Emily Kvasnicka, SO, Salina Central

OF: Brianna Reeves, SR, Derby; Olivia Sandavol, FR, Newton

UT: McKenna Cusick, FR, Newton; Teegan Krol, JR, Hutchinson